Welcome to ReviewDesk.com ...
First of all, I'd like to thank you for your decision to visit this review website.  In case you didn't infer what this website is about from the name "ReviewDesk," well, we review stuff.  We review technology... any tangible technology that we can get our hands on.
In case you're looking for a reason why you should go to ReviewDesk.com instead of some other review website, I can only think of one: because ReviewDesk.com makes the best reviews.  Sometimes.  They should be easy to read, at the very least.
Please look below this text for some links to other websites with technology-related reviews along with random ramblings and updates from this website.  One thing you might notice is that most of the reviews that I link to are of computer-related stuff.  Yeah, that's what happens.  Basically, this is why: nerds write reviews, nerds like nerdy things, and computers are generally considered nerdy.  It's simple.
Dividing Image

SilverStone Grandia GD03 HTPC Case Review

Thursday, July 28th, 2011 by Maxwell

We just posted up a review of the SilverStone Grandia GD03 HTPC Case. It’s pretty cool; check out the review here.

MSI P67A-G43 LGA 1155 Motherboard Review

Wednesday, May 11th, 2011 by Maxwell

Were you looking for a reasonably-priced motherboard for your new Intel i7 processor? Or any LGA 1155 processor, for that matter? Then you might be interested in this review:

Click here to check it out.

Dell laptop batteries suck.

Friday, November 6th, 2009 by Maxwell

A couple days ago, I posted about a strange problem that I’ve experienced with two Dell laptops. The problem is that the computer experiences keyboard lag until the battery is taken out. Obviously, a laptop without a battery is basically a light-weight desktop, so leaving it battery-less isn’t a great option. This brings about a question: if I buy a new battery for my laptop, will it still have the keyboard lag problem, or will the new battery save it?

No more keyboard lagggg!

Verdict: The new battery fixes the keyboard lag.

Unfortunately, laptop batteries are often quite expensive. So, while buying and installing a new battery will cure your laptop of keyboard lag, it’ll also clear your wallet of your cash. Lightweight desktop or larger credit card bill… what will you choose?

Dell laptops suck.

Wednesday, November 4th, 2009 by Maxwell

Okay, maybe the title is a bit over-the-top, but they’re the only ones I’ve seen that get this very odd problem.

At the company I work for, we have about 10 Dell laptops for the employees to use to do their energy audits and such. We have a few other laptops (Lenovos and Acers) laying around, but that’s unimportant. What is important is that two of the 10 Dell laptops developed a very strange keyboard lag. And one of them is just plain dead, but that’s also unimportant.

“Keyboard lag?!?!?,” you say? Yes. This is the problem: while typing, the characters on the screen would severely lag behind the keyboard keystrokes. So much, in fact, that they were practically unusable. The good news, though, is that there is a free, albeit not so great, solution to fix it.

Dell Vostro 1000 Keyboard LAGGZZZZ

Now, I’m not sure what the hardware problem behind this is, but to fix it, all I had to do was remove the battery. That’s right. Removing the battery from the laptop, and running it solely off the power supply, cured the keystroke lagging problem. Battery alone, lag. Battery plus power supply, lag. Power supply only, no lag.

Because of this cure, we now have two not-so-portable laptops at my office. Would purchasing new batteries fix the problem? Possibly. To test this, I’m probably going to end up attaching the battery from the dead Dell laptop up to the laptop with the keyboard lag, since they’re the same model. I actually didn’t think about that until just now. Once I perform this test, I will let you know the results.

And, oh yeah, the two models that are afflicted with this disease are different, and like 2 years apart. So it’s not just the model, it’s Dell.

Until next time…

My…Router…Reset?

Thursday, April 9th, 2009 by Maxwell

I never knew this was possible, so there’s a good chance you didn’t either.

The other night, it was raining, but not too hard. I was sitting in my living room, watching the ol’ boob-tube, when there was a power surge. I knew it was a surge (and not a quick blackout) because the light that was illuminating the room got a lot brighter instead of going out.

So, since it was a surge, my surge protector on the TV did its job, and ended up turning off everything connected to it. It also required a reset, which I thought was kind of weird.

The weirdest thing, though, that happened from the power surge, was the reset of my Linksys WRT54GS router.

It didn’t blow it. It just reset it.

Therefore, with a quick reconfiguration, it was good and usable again.

Interesting, eh?

I bought a netbook.

Thursday, February 12th, 2009 by Maxwell

Okay, I did it. I hopped aboard the netbook bandwagon. And what jewel pushed me over the edge? The Asus Eee PC 1000h.

Originally, I was one of those people who said, “Why would I get that, when, for the same price, I could get a full-sized laptop that dwarfs those puny netbooks in speed and functionality?” Was.

Really, what did it for me was the need (want) for a laptop. My roommates are always playing with their laptops downstairs, and I get jealous. For example, if I wanted to get in on an internet poker game they were playing, I’d have to either play on the HTPC, or go upstairs to the four-core powerhouse. The HTPC, while being quite feasible, is a bit ridiculous to play on because of the 42-inch “monitor” it’s connected to. That left me with the powerhouse — and that left me alone, upstairs.

I might post up a review at some point, although I modified it right after I bought it, so the review wouldn’t really be fair. We’ll see. If anyone genuinely wants to see a review/write-up, let me know. If I get more than 2 responses, I’ll definitely write something up.

As always: keep it real.

New! Sony Memory Stick PRO-HG Duo HX!

Friday, September 5th, 2008 by Maxwell

Is it just me, or is there a ridiculous amount of unnecessary letters in that name? Okay, I can accept the PRO, ’cause, I mean, yeah it’s totally professional. I can MAYBE even accept the Duo, even though I honestly don’t know what it means.. or even if it’s supposed to mean anything. Is it an acronym? Is PRO an acronym? It’s capitalized like an acronym. It’s too bad I’m not more interested, or I might actually look this stuff up.

Memory Stick PRO-HG Duo Hax!

So yeah, the PRO and the Duo… passable. What starts to get me is that HG. You’re pushing it with just the HG, Sony. Then you have the tact to add the HX? Are you kidding me?

I get that it’s a new product. Give it a new name… like the Memory Stick HG. That wasn’t taken, was it? Come on.. c’..c’..c’mon. No, seriously. Come on.

To sum it up, one word: bleh.

How to play Old Snakey while reading your Gmail…

Wednesday, June 11th, 2008 by Maxwell

Did you know that you can play Old Snakey, a fun snake-eating-dots game, within Gmail?

Me either. That is, until today.

I thought that it was pretty sweet, so I decided to write a how-to. That way, you too can play Old Snakey.


Old Snakey!

Good luck trying to beat my sweet high score! ;)

Click here to learn how to play Old Snakey.

ReviewDesk has turned strict!

Tuesday, April 22nd, 2008 by Maxwell

XHTML 1.0 Strict, that is. It took a little while, but it was worth it… I think.

Honestly, I’m not sure why peeps be hatin’ on XHTML 1.0 Transitional. I mean, yeah, some aspects of it are supposed to be deprecated, but really, we’re never doing away with the align attribute, nor the target attribute. I don’t think, anyway. A browser maker would have to be straight up stupid to do something like that. Half the pages on the interwebz wouldn’t work right without a browser parsing those attributes, so no one would use it.

I like transitional, but I guess I’ll try to code in XTML Strict from now on. Maybe some day it’ll be worth it.

As you can see…

Saturday, April 19th, 2008 by Maxwell

…the new website design is up.  It’s simple and clean, but I’m starting to think that maybe it’s too simple.  I don’t want people to see my website and be like, “oh, it’s simple looking, therefore the content within must be simple.”  That would suck.

If you read this, consider shooting me an e-mail or leaving a comment.  Let me know what you think of the new site design.  You can do so anonymously, which means you can trash it all you want, and there will be no repercussions.  And if you feel like the design deserves it, please do.

Seriously.  I want feedback, even if it’s negative.

Thanks!